Our mission is to provide quality care and education to young children in Macon County and the surrounding areas.

Boy with megaphone

Welcome to the Community Child Development Center Family

The center is licensed to serve children birth to age six. The program is open year round from 6:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m., Monday-Friday except for designated holidays.

Program Philosophy

It is the philosophy of the Community Child Development Center, Inc. that young children construct their own knowledge through interactions with the physical and social world. The program emphasizes the development of the whole child with the integration of social/emotional, physical, cognitive and language development.

Young children learn best through activity that is process-oriented and hands-on. Activities will reflect the developmental range and the individual interests of each child and will be both child and teacher directed.

General Program Information

Community Child Development Center, Inc. is licensed by the State of Missouri Department of Health, Section for Child Care Regulation. Facilities are routinely inspected by the Missouri Department of Health and Sanitation, the State Fire Marshall and the Section for Child Care Regulation to insure health and safety requirements. Applications are accepted without regard to race, religion, sex or national origin.

Applications are accepted on a first come first serve basis. A copy of Missouri Licensing Rules for Group Child Care Homes and Child Care Centers is available upon request and in the office. Regulations can be viewed at www.dhss.mo.gov/childcare.


Community Child Development Center was devised from a need for additional quality child care in the Macon area. A group of concerned citizens met in Spring 2005 and Community Child Development Center, Inc was incorporated as a 501©3 non-proft corporation in September 2005. A Board of Directors was formed with Jane Hunter serving as President and fundraising efforts began.

During 2006-2008, over 1 million dollars was raised through grants, tax credits and donations to finance the program. A building was purchased in December 2006 with a Community Block Grant and a Neighborhood Assistance Program Grant was approved for renovations and materials. A state of the art playground was created with the assistance of a Mark Twain Solid Waste Grant. In early 2008, renovations to create a premier early childhood program began. The center opened in Fall 2008 with fifty children.

Board Members

Susan Spencer, President; Kami Mohn, Vice President; Avis Marshall, Treasurer and Wanda Grimm, Secretary; Darla Dwiggins, Jerry Thompson, Zach McLeland, Ryan Johnson, Scott Nelson, Mary Ann Butner, Sonja Legan, Patricia Knowles; Ex-officio, Deborah Neff and Jessica Allspach.

Members of the board!